Fear, Terror, DID and Reactive Attachment Disorder (RAD) Part One:

Fear, Terror, DID and Reactive Attachment Disorder (RAD):

 

Intro:

I am the creator of this blog. I mainly write about behavior, foster and adoption issues but there are many spiritual topics I talk about too. Please take a moment to look through the post list to see if there is something you would want to read.

My last post was about burden bearing. I talked about how some people carry burdens past the time God requires. I also added another point about burden bearing which I have discovered recently.

Today I am going to share about integrating a broken heart. I know I have talked about this before but I am glad to say we have had some success in this area. Some RAD children have integrated and it is having a positive outcome.

(This is the first post of this three part series)

 

Fear, Terror and DID:

DID = Dissociative Identity Disorder

My definition of DID is when a person’s heart shatters because of fear and terror due to trauma. This creates what I call a part (or shattered piece of their heart) and some parts can be stronger than others. I also call the strongest parts defenders.

Adopted children go through much fear and terror in the process of leaving their birth parents. Reactive Attachment Disorder (RAD) is part of an orphans experience with fear, terror and trauma leading to making vows. The trauma sometimes causes DID.

 

Defenders:

         The stronger parts are defenders. The defender is the one who decides they are going to protect all the other shattered parts to keep them safe. These defender parts are always on the lookout for anyone who may be unsafe to be around. It is like they have their radar up all the time – searching every one crossing their path.

I have had the complete honor and pleasure of participating in the healing of the shattered hearts of traumatized children. I find it interesting that the defenders are one of the last part(s) to integrate. They need to watch the other parts heal before they will trust the process as real and good for them. They are suspicious and many times stubborn.

I have written so much in this blog of the vow(s) adopted children make which cause RAD. They won’t bond or allow others to bond to them because of this vow. Their hearts shatter and create parts and defenders. This creates a real mess they can’t get out of by themselves.

 

Victory:

But, when a stubborn, suspicious and strong defender finally gives up and decides to integrate it is a glorious site. Recently, I have had the pleasure of integrating some defenders. I have to say it is a sweet reward to see the healing which happens at this point.

There have been more than adopted people which I have had the pleasure of helping in this way. But, when a RAD adopted child allows their defender to be integrated I am beside of myself with joy!! God does such a perfect job at gaining their trust and they finally see they don’t need to defend themselves because God will be their defender.

 

Getting Help:

         Find someone to help your adopted, RAD and maybe shattered child. It is important to find someone who knows what they are doing and understands RAD and the effects of trauma. These children need so much help.

If you can’t find someone – then maybe I can help. I can be reached at Laurie@getrealliving.com  We can set up an appointment.

I will be here again next week with the second part of this three part series. Have a good week. Until then…

 

 

 

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Fear, Terror, DID, and Reactive Attachment Disorder (RAD) Part Two: | Abba Father's Love
  2. Trackback: Fear, Terror, DID, and Reactive Attachment Disorder (RAD) Part Three: | Abba Father's Love
  3. Trackback: What Does the Trinity Have to do With Healing Reactive Attachment Disorder (RAD)? | Abba Father's Love
  4. Trackback: Delusions of Grandeur and Reactive Attachment Disorder (RAD) – What? | Abba Father's Love
  5. Trackback: Adopted and Foster Children and Possible defenders: | Abba Father's Love
  6. Trackback: Seeing Past Your Child’s Reactive Attachment Disorder (RAD) to Their DMA Gifting – Part Two | Abba Father's Love

Leave a Reply

