Foster and Adoption Help? – Part One

 

What we are about

Intro:

Hi everyone. I created this blog for foster and adoptive families. I feel families who have children with behavioral problems are in this mix also. I have written many posts on different subjects but Reactive Attachment Disorder (RAD) is at the top of the list to talk about in this blog. Please take a moment to read some of my other posts.

My last two posts were about adoptive mothers receiving the protection of their husbands when they are being abused by their adopted RAD children. I talked about the steps I took when my husband decided to be the protector in the home. Check out my last two posts for more information.

Today is the first part of this three part series of posts about the ministry we (Me, Wendy and Angie) have started. The ministry is called Abba Father’s Love and we help foster, and adoptive families plus families with children who have behavioral problems. We love helping families so read further and maybe we can help you.

 

Abba Father’s Love

We have three parts to the Abba Father’s Love Ministry:

  1. Parental Support Groups
  2. Life Coaching
  3. This Blog

(I will write about these three parts of the ministry and follow the order listed above)

 

Abba Father’s Love Support Groups

Support group one:

         I have started two local support groups. In a previous posts I encouraged my readers to go to or start a support group and then I told a little bit about my two groups. Now I will tell some more about them in reference to being part of the Abba Father’s Love ministry.

I have one support group in the morning so I can reach the mothers who don’t work or don’t work in the morning. We usually meet for two hours. Many times we don’t want to leave because of the connection we’ve developed.

We have the best time because we all have children with behavioral problems, adoption and foster problems, or RAD. We laugh and laugh because life at home is hard and we all get it.

The behavior of our children can be ridiculous. We (the mothers) have come to realize we can be vulnerable about our feelings and know everyone understands because we’ve all been there. The comradery is deep and we are there for each other.

 

 

Support Group Two:

This group meets in the evening so the mothers that work during the day can come. The fathers are invited too but they usually stay home so their wives can come. I would love for the fathers to come too!

This group is quite new but I can see the same closeness developing. Again, the mothers are being very real about how they feel and how things are going in their home. We laugh and we cry together because we all understand what the others are going through.

 

Overall thoughts on Support Groups:

The support groups are such wonderful additions to our lives. I am amazed by the wisdom coming out of each mother’s mouth. We all benefit from each person’s portion and everyone learns and heals.

During the meeting I also offer some type of teaching or encouragement. This helps the mother’s refuse their children’s abusiveness and see life at home in a new light. A change in perspective usually makes life’s difficulties seem much smaller than previously experienced.

 

 

Conclusion:

Support groups are one of the three parts we offer in Abba Father’s Love ministry. They help our mothers find a listening ear and a compassionate heart towards the difficulties they are facing.

Maybe in the future I will develop a Facebook Live support group for those who are out of the area. If you are interested in such support group please tell me in the comment box. I can look onto how to set up a Facebook Live group.

This is all for today. Be blessed and have a good week. Until next week…

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Need Foster and Adoption Help? Part Two | Abba Father's Love
  2. Trackback: Need Foster and Adoption Help? Part Three | Abba Father's Love
  3. Trackback: Framing Adoption and Reactive Attachment Disorder (RAD) Correctly: | Abba Father's Love

Leave a Reply

