Adoption RAD Victory

Adoption RAD Victory and Prayer

 Intro:

Hi all! I’m Laurie and I’m excited to share some things today! Before I get ahead of myself – I write this blog to encourage the foster and adoptive families out there who are living with difficult adoption and RAD issues. RAD stands for Reactive Attachment Disorder. Please check out my previous posts on this subject.

My last post was about navigating through the summer while facing RAD symptoms every day – 24/7. You and your adopted RAD child will need a break from each another.. It’s OK to take a break.

Today I’m going to share some good news as it pertains to my two adopted RAD daughters. I have been praying in some very specific ways and I believe my husband and I are seeing some breakthroughs.

 

Prayer Breakthroughs:

         In previous posts I’ve explained my adopted daughters can’t attach because of their RAD (Reactive Attachment Disorder). I’ve also written on the symptoms of RAD. (If you don’t know what RAD is please check out my previous posts) As a result of RAD, my oldest adopted daughter decided – at eighteen – she wasn’t a family member and went out on her own. She got into witchcraft, has been in jail and has spent time on the streets – homeless. She is now twenty-three years old.

Around two years ago I found a certain way of praying and started using this prayer procedure over my adopted RAD children. I prayed about everything I could think of for my children and waited to see if it was making any difference. Some time went by with no evidence but recently we are seeing some changes.

My husband and I got a chance to talk to our oldest adopted RAD daughter about a month ago and she shared some exciting news. She has counseled with a woman about her adoption issues and is dealing with them. This counselor is now having her speak to a group of adopted children in an effort to help these children deal with their issues. My daughter is also going to college this fall to take child psychology in order to help adopted children.

She was polite on the phone and sounded excited to have a direction in life. I could see she wanted to use her life for a bigger purpose of helping others instead of just revolving around herself. My husband and I were excited for her and are rejoicing to see her have a direction and purpose.

My youngest adopted daughter has RAD, and Fetal Alcohol Syndrome (FAS). She needed to be removed from our home because she was going to kill me. She is nineteen and has finished a type of job core. She is now in a group home with a group of girls with similar symptoms.

My husband and I have talked to our youngest adopted daughter on the phone many times over the years and the conversations haven’t gone well. Our daughter has been volatile, verbally abusive and very narcissistic to us. BUT, we are recently seeing a change in her too.

She has currently accepted counseling and she is the calmest we have ever seen her. I’m amazed because she has NEVER been able to speak to anyone respectfully. My husband and I are still talking about it. We’re rejoicing in the difference!

 

Conclusion:

         I just wanted to share the good news and encourage all of you – there’s hope! The prayers of a father and mother are listened to by Father God – so keep praying!!

Please leave a comment in the box below. Talk to you next week. Until then…

 

 

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. janesforever
    May 01, 2016 @ 07:36:01

    Very encouraging to hear the answers to prayer for your daughters. Thank you for sharing. Jane xxxx
    https://anunexpectedjourneytoadoption.wordpress.com

    Like

    Reply

  2. Trackback: Adoption Parents – Developing Inner Peace – Part One: | Abba Father's Love

Leave a Reply

